A Ragamuffin

Ragamuffin-Movie-Image

I watched the movie, “Ragamuffin,” last night and I’m sorta of a wreck and still processing it.  It was based on the life of Rich Mullins.  Rich was a Christian who struggled with his brokenness. He wrote songs that were recorded by others as well as himself.  Here’s the trailer to the movie:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NF7qbCTFja0&feature=kp

ragamuffin

What is a ‘ragamuffin?’  My on-line dictionary say it’s “a child who is dressed in rags and is usually dirty and poor.”  Brennan Manning, who had a big influence on Rich, wrote a book entitled, “The Ragamuffin Gospel.”  The Gospel is for the outcasts and prisoners; the sick and poor.  Mullins began to see himself as a ragamuffin.  He didn’t fit it, wearing ratty clothes and going barefoot.  Even more so, the hurting child inside him was broken and poor.

Brennan Manning wrote: “For Ragamuffins, God’s name is Mercy. We see our darkness as a prized possession because it drives us into the heart of God. Without mercy our darkness would plunge us into despair – for some, self-destruction. Time alone with God reveals the unfathomable depths of the poverty of the spirit. We are so poor that even our poverty is not our own: It belongs to the mysterium tremendum of a loving God.”

It was Rich Mullins’ brokenness that drove him to the heart of God.  What struck me about Rich’s life was:

  • His honesty.  This movie isn’t probably for small children…as there are honest portrayals of Rich’s struggle with alcohol (and there is some light cursing).  It also probably isn’t for some Christians who struggle with judging others.  The movie…Rich…was honest about his struggles and brokenness.
  • His art.  Rich struggled with the hypocrisy of some in the Christian Music scene, but he sought to write songs from the heart.  Some were cathartic with lyrics like, “hold me Jesus, I’m shaking like a leaf,” or worshipful like, “Awesome God.”  Rich didn’t try to be trendy or make lots of money, but to create art that came from his heart.
  • His simple life.  He did go barefoot and wear ratty clothes, but it was more than the clothes.  He chose to live simply.  I was amazed that he made the decision to only live on what the average person’s salary was for that area.  The rest he gave to churches and charities.  He never knew how much money he was making.  Later in his life, he moved to an Indian Reservation and ministered to the kids there.

I confess the movie gave me impetus to explore Rich Mullins’ life a little further.  This morning I began the book,”Rich Mullins: A Devotional biography: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven” by James Bryan Smith and I’ve found my Rich Mullins CDs (LOL).  I’m listening to “The Jesus Record” right now.

Rich always signed his autographs:  “Be God’s.”  Most of us are told to “be good,” but our goodness only comes from “being God’s.”  So what’s my take-away?  I’m a ragamuffin too and I’m praying for a heart that gets bigger and bigger for all the ragamuffins God puts in my path.  Be God’s!

 

1 thought on “A Ragamuffin

  1. Read his biography and was struck by his humility, his compassion , and his total disinterest in his fame and possessions. I have a friend who years ago was totally disillusioned with church and even God. Rich Mullins life and book brought such a refreshing to her soul. The simplicity of his life and complete desire to just love Him , brought her back to a place of love for the church and trust in God. Oh, and I love the no shoes thing! 🙂

Leave a comment